top of page
  • southkansassymphony

South Kansas Symphony to open season Oct. 15

Updated: Oct 17, 2023

The South Kansas Symphony, Inc. (SKS) will open its 2023-24 season with “Adventure Awaits” at 6 p.m. October 15 in Richardson Performing Arts Center at Southwestern College.

The concert is sponsored by Family Wealth Management/Michael & Linda Harvey.

The video game-themed concert will feature music from crowd favorite games such as World of Warcraft, Starcraft, Halo, and Kingdom Hearts, along with a performance of the Peer Gynt Suite No. 1 by Edvard Grieg and Harbison’s Lake Dance.

Tickets are $10. Children under 12 years of age are free with an adult, and Southwestern College, Cowley College, and PreK-12 students, staff, and faculty may attend for free with their school ID.

This will be Dr. Michael Christensen’s debut concert with the symphony after being named conductor over the summer, and the first concert following the symphony’s incorporation as a non-profit organization.

Members of the symphony include Southwestern College students and alumni, community members, and high school students. They represent Winfield and Arkansas City, as well as surrounding communities like Belle Plaine, Derby, Dexter, Wellington, and Wichita.

Additional regular-season performances are scheduled for December 3, March 3, and April 28. All performances will take place at 3 p.m. in Richardson Performing Arts Center.

Visit to learn more or to purchase advance tickets. Information is also available on the symphony’s Facebook page.

About South Kansas Symphony, Inc.

South Kansas Symphony, Inc. is a not-for-profit symphony orchestra located in Winfield, KS. The symphony performs four regular season concerts each year in Richardson Performing Arts Center at Southwestern College. Governed by a nine-member volunteer board along with a conductor, the symphony invites local amateur and semi-professional musicians to take part in providing low-cost, live music opportunities for Winfield and the South Central Kansas region.

9 views0 comments


bottom of page